Bordeaux QPR - 1st Growths

Dionysus

Bordeaux QPR - 1st Growths

Post by Dionysus »

Interesting in the forum’s thoughts on this subject matter…as the thread title suggest, which RED wines, in your opinion, represents the best and worst value for money amongst each of the 1855 classified growths. And why.

For me, there are a small, select, number of Chateau’s that seemingly punch above there weight in terms of delivering QPR. These observations have been gleamed from my own personal tasting experiences (vintages spanning over the past 15 years (yes, I know, but I’m new to the game)), and supported by Critic scores (something which is contentious in itself, and worthy of a separate discussion).

While most would agree that Lynch Bages deserves a placing higher than its lowly 5th Growth standing, it wouldn’t qualify as a good QPR wine for me as the current release prices are closer to those of a mid-range 2nd Growth. The same principal would apply for the likes of Palmer & Pontet-Canet, etc.
Conor
Dionysus

Re: Bordeaux QPR - 1st Growths

Post by Dionysus »

I'll start us off.
A note on the 1st growths; a tricky one to begin with, as one could easily make a strong argument that none offer a decent QPR, given the lofty prices. In saying that, all five are simply stunning wines, often perfection in a glass. Perhaps unsurprisingly, of all the growth categories, I have the least amount of tasting experience of the 1st growth properties.