TNs: Stepping on a few s&#t in the Iberian minefield.

Ramon_NYC

TNs: Stepping on a few s&#t in the Iberian minefield.

Post by Ramon_NYC »

Just following up on Blanquito's thread about Spanish wines with these TNs.

TN’s on a few Spanish wines that I was able to retain my notes on. All of them young, as they were purchased with meals at various restaurants last week.

2005 Bodegas y Vinedos Alion, Ribera del Duero
This was quite good. Just about slightly modern to my taste. Immediately decanted upon being ordered. Oak and tannin at first, and during the course of the meal, the wine became smoother and showed layer after layer of lean black fruit. It was a match made with the terrific lamb chop entree that I had. I have no experience with older bottles of these, but I feel that this will get better with some cellar time. Paid about $75 in a very good Spanish restaurant. B+

2005 Tinto Pesquera Reserva, Ribera de Duero
Started much rougher than the Alion, but made, imho, in the more earthy and rustic traditional style. The nose on this wine can be off-putting with it’s slight funkiness, but I know that it wasn’t corked or anything like that as I’ve had previous experiences with Pesquera wines that also had similar bouquet. A big, dark wine that seemed to require tremendous amount of patience to integrate ... if it will at all. About $45 at Casa Lucio. B

2004 Remelluri Reserva “La Grana Nuestra de Remelluri”, Rioja
A new world style Rioja. Sweet, ripe, yet quite hollow. Wood notes. $35 at La Barraca. B-

2006 Pago de los Capellanes Crianza, Ribera del Duero
Ripe, thin, sweet fruit all over, forgettable. $27 at a forgettable restaurant in Segovia. C
Rick

Re: TNs: Stepping on a few s&#t in the Iberian minefield.

Post by Rick »