What Was Your Epiphany Bordeaux?

OrlandoRobert

What Was Your Epiphany Bordeaux?

Post by OrlandoRobert »

I still remember mine fondly:

1990 Ch. La Louviere, Pessac-Leognan.

I thought about it recently when my local retailer found some and listed it for $100. I have not had it in quite some time, but tempted.

I had just graduated from law school and had some extra coin in my pocket, plus I was all cocky like that, thinking my sophisticated butt deserved sophisticated red wine. I grew up on wine in my family home and consumed wine through law school, but I had not ventured into Bdx. When I graduated, the wonderful '89 and '90 vintages were out. I still think about all those classified growths for $40 and under. I bought Pichon Baron, Lynch Bages, Las Cases, and others, in addition to that certain 94-rated wine with a cool looking, antiqued label: La Louviere.

I remember bringing it home to my parents for Thanksgiving dinner, along with some other wines and the 1991 Caymus SS, the most I had ever spent on a wine, $80, at that time. We popped many wines that weekend, but the La Louviere stood out not just to me, but to my Father and Bro-in-Law. I recall the sweet red fruits, tobacco, slightly toasted earth. A wonderful musky nose. I went out and bought more. All of $24.99. Sadly, I drank them all way too early, but 1990 did show well early.

A think I just convinced myself to buy some more for that little trod down memory lane with an old friend.

Cheers all.

Robert
Last edited by OrlandoRobert on Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RDD

Re: What Was Your Epiphany Bordeaux?

Post by RDD »

1982 Talbot
JimHow

Post by JimHow »

1986 Chateau de Lamarque, Montreal, January 4, 1997.
Outlier

Post by Outlier »

'88 La Mission Haut Brion, Thanksgiving, 2001
I drank it with an avid Bordeaux enthusiast. After the first sip my friend burst out laughing - it was so good it was almost ridiculous. The same day I had '90 Trotanoy, which wasn't far off.