Wine and Age. A small rant.

William P

Wine and Age. A small rant.

Post by William P »

I find myself in a wine funk. No it has nothing to do with drinking the juice, it’s buying and restocking that has me floundering. I’ve been buying since 1980 but I was never a power buyer. At my peak maybe a few hundred bottles of which 95% were Bordeaux. (I still have six bottles from 1982 that I am holding. Those bottles have been through the birth of my kids, new homes, 38 years of litigation practice. These are the last 6 from four or five cases of wine.) There was a time when I drank an older bottle, I would replace it with a bottle from the most recent vintage. Times change.

I guess that’s the problem, I’ve bought and held bottles with the anticipation of great wine in the future and those hopes have been largely fulfilled. Still, when you’re twenty or forty, the thought of holding a wine for twenty/thirty years is reasonable. However, when you are sixty-five, the thought of buying and holding a wine, especially a Bordeaux isn’t as appealing. As a recent retiree, I’m not prowling the auctions either. I’ve cut down on buying and drinking fine wine especially aged Bordeaux. I love aged wines, but the older I get, the more likely I become a statistic on the mortality tables.

To highlight this problem, the other day I saw 2012 Haut Bergey for $17.00 and the 2012 Rauzan Segla for $54.00. Rather than saying - back up the truck, I’m thinking – in ten years where will this wine be and were will I be.

You younger guys will laugh at this post, I would have at 45. I’m happy with 65 but I’m not getting any younger and the wines I used to buy are not aging any faster. I find myself drinking Oregon Pinot and some Cali Cabs because they are more accessible at a younger age. I’m not sure they pluck my defective heart like Bordeaux, but “time may change me, but I can’t change time.”