82 Mouton a Birthday Treat

dstgolf

82 Mouton a Birthday Treat

Post by dstgolf »

A big day deserved a big wine that I've been sitting on for this moment for almost 20 years. When I saw the label showing this was the 60th anniversary wine years back and 60th vintage under Baron Philippe Rothschild I knew this was the ideal buy for my 60th. The day has come and gone and I'll say no birthday to date has got me so down as this one...but I'll get over it.

With my kids over we had filet with peppercorn sauce which was a perfect match for this perfect bottle. I've had the pleasure twice before the last with SDR in an 82 Latour/ Mouton showdown that had Latour out by a neck. This time the bottle was simply perfection. A nose that wouldn't quit. Beautiful balance and well down the road of maturity but in a good way. Leather,tobacco and cedar dominated over the classic graphite you get in the youth. Tannins fully resolved thrown onto the bottom of the bottle with heavy sediment with the wine in glass showing a garnet hue rather than the youthful inky purple. Dark red fruit with cassis and black cherries in the background and at least 60 second linger on the back end. This was about as good as you expect a wine to be in its lifetime. This isn't falling off the map by any means but there is not point to rest much longer in your cellars because I can't see any upside in sitting on this. Best wine of the year so far and one of my best ever ....in my top 10 for sure.
Danny
stefan

Re: 82 Mouton a Birthday Treat

Post by stefan »

Happy birthday, Danny. We drank 82 Mouton in September and it was as good as you describe.
Nicklasss

Post by Nicklasss »

Happy birthday Danny.

82 Mouton is my top red ever tasted, so I guess you had a great time. 60 years old? Nnnaaawwwww, you're kidding?

Nic
DavidG

Post by DavidG »

Happy birthday Danny. I hear you re: 60. Don't sweat it, the alternative is worse.
AlexR

Post by AlexR »

Happy birthday Danny.