Bordeaux Blanc

BigTex22

Bordeaux Blanc

Post by BigTex22 »

Hello, I'm new to the board, and am interested in trying and possibly obtaining a small collection of Bordeaux Blancs. I'm new to this category and would appreciate any thoughts from this board on strong vintages, key producers, differences in styles, etc. Thanks in advance!
Nicklasss

Re: Bordeaux Blanc

Post by Nicklasss »

Hi Bigtex22. Not afan of expensive white Bordeaux myself, I can only recommend the Chateau Puygueraud or some light Entre-Deux-Mers for you to try.

But I'm sure some here can help you more.

Welcome.

Nic
johnz

Post by johnz »

My advice -- stock to the Pessac Leognan wines like Carbonnieux, Latour Martillac, Haut Bergey, La Louviere and away from the overpriced newly developed Medoc whites. Pessac has been making great steely/austere white bordeaux wines utilizing Sauvignon Blanc and Semillion grapes for a long time, and at decent prices too -- $40/btl or so . . .

--Gary Rust
Comte Flaneur

Post by Comte Flaneur »

There are a lot of good under the radar producers. The portes ouvrees I went to with Alex late last year in early Dec was so instructive.
AKR

Post by AKR »

Personally I don't get much out of white Bordeaux, but I will buy/drink some of Denis Dubordieu (decd) stable.

Reynon is inexpensive and good, Clos Floridene blanc is better and a ten spot more.

The latter will easily keep 10 years, if you want.

It is more available today than it was in the past.

Before laying down higher end examples (that others have mentioned) of this category for the long haul, see if you can taste some mature examples to see if you will like how they develop.

I don't really care much for aged white Hermitage either, so maybe that is a cue.
Winona Chief

Post by Winona Chief »