2016 Foillard Morgon Cotes de Py (and a quick Paris report)

marcs

2016 Foillard Morgon Cotes de Py (and a quick Paris report)

Post by marcs »

On the list at a Parisian bistro (Chez Monsieur) at 48 Euro. Decent price, exactly the wine I would sell if I owned a bistro.

I've had some up and down experiences with Foillard but when they're on they're on and this was on. A bit of reductive spritz on the tongue (not a fan of that) but it gradually went away over 30 minutes. Fantastic nose from the jump, typical of Foillard. Sweet and tangy, reminiscent of cranberry sauce with cinnamon. Nose gradually got even richer as the wine opened up, but still kept a vegetal tang -- by an hour or so in it almost made me detect notes of ketchup due to the combination of tomato leaf and intense red fruit sweetness. The palate started narrow and acidic but then broadened out and relaxed. Sweet on the palate as well, but the strawberry/raspberry sweetness cut by a mineral edge and an acidic tang. Also some other favors like spices and tobacco. This is like a Beaujolais fruit bomb -- except it's not at all a fruit bomb because it's so Beaujolais, if you get my drift. A touch of tannin at the back of the palate -/ this will age a while.

Foillard lacks some finesse compared to Burgundy but gives you way more fruit intensity than a villages Burgundy, and a certain kind of overt complexity created by multiplicity of favors. If you are OK with that sort of raspberry/cherry bubble gum element characteristic of Beaujolais then it is a very good deal
Last edited by marcs on Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DavidG

Re: 2016 Foillard Morgon Cotes de Py

Post by DavidG »

Enjoy Paris!

I can go for a hint of vegetal for complexity. But the combo of vegetal tang, tomato leaf suggestive of ketchup, and raspberry/cherry bubble gum sweetness doesn’t sound like my cup of Bojo...

I’m a fan of Jean Paul Brun (Terres Dorées) and Thevenet. Have you ever had those?
jal

Post by jal »