Alaska

JimHow

Alaska

Post by JimHow »

Booked our flights and accommodations today, jury selection commences on Monday, January 3rd, followed by seven weeks of trial.
We'll be arriving in Fairbanks on Friday, December 31st. Happy #$%@ing New Year.
Our defense has been completely gutted, it is beginning to seem like a quixotic enterprise.
I've been teetering between fasting completely every night for the next three months, or drinking heavily every night for three months.
I've chosen the former, but will try to uncork something special for my Thursday night wine dinner for one last hurrah.
OrlandoRobert

Re: Alaska

Post by OrlandoRobert »

I don’t know how you do this buddy, you are a true warrior. Much respect. I truly believe your role is the most important service that any lawyer can provide. Hopefully that’s some consolation for the struggle in which you are about to embark. Someone’s liberty is at stake. There is nothing that is more important than that, in this overly-penal, violent government.
JimHow

Post by JimHow »

It gets depressing, OB.
I’m testifying before the Maine legislature tomorrow.
I’m going to present my five point plan and then call the current system a kangaroo court. It will ruffle feathers, all the way to the Maine Supreme Court.
The system is truly crumbling, my friend, it is so sad.
PghMike

Post by PghMike »

If I make it up there in the next couple months I'll buy you a well deserved dinner. I'm not looking forward to my short term travels let alone a longer haul. Sorry to hear but glad to see people fighting for fairness where there can often be little to be found.
JimHow

Post by JimHow »

Indeed Mike, we’ll be at the Springhill Suites in Fairbanks, across the street from the courthouse, through January and into February. They have an excellent bistro there — Lavelle’s Bistro — that is the best restaurant in town, with actually a pretty good, mostly west coast wine list. Let me know when you’re in the area!
JimHow

Post by JimHow »